DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior and Exterior Lighting


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior and Exterior Lighting HID - HALO - LED LIGHTING - UNDERBODY LIGHTING - TINTED/SMOKED/PAINTED TAILS - ETC.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-18-2013, 11:14 PM
Thebestestdrummer's Avatar
Thebestestdrummer Thebestestdrummer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age: 19
Posts: 964
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 4
Rep:525
Thebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of light
Question LED strip, dome light triggered help.

I bought 3 sets of 2 LED strips, 1 set is small, like 6 inchish. the others are longer, like 12 inches. Am I able to wire them all parallel to the wires by the dome light and be okay?

My plan is to put the small set in the dome light, and one set under the foot wells, the last under the doors, so when I open the doors, green dome panel, green foot wells, and green light shining on the ground under the doors all turn on.

That should be controlled by the doors and then the little wheel switch thing by the lights right?...
__________________
2 10 Memphis Power Reference Subs with SPL Z2X-1600 amp JVC head unit,
Advanced 3 million Underbody LED kit,
Air horn "AHHOOOGA" horn,
plasti-dipped hood stripe, rims, mirrors,handles, emblems,
Green Interior LEDs
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-19-2013, 09:21 AM
gcscott's Avatar
gcscott gcscott is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 56
Posts: 958
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4X4 / 3.55 LSD
Trim Level: Outdoorsman Crew Cab
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:1043
gcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud of
Default

You just need to wire the positive(+) and negative (-) on the LED lights. You do not have to worry about parallel or series with LED lights. If you get it wired wrong the LED lights will not light up. If you have floor courtesy lights you can tap into that wire.

Greg
__________________
MOD LIST:To many to list. I do all MODS and Installs myself.
View them here: http://www.ramforumz.com/member.php?u=66037
Every time I think I'm done with doing Mods something else catches my eye.


Last edited by gcscott; 09-19-2013 at 09:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2013, 10:29 AM
Thebestestdrummer's Avatar
Thebestestdrummer Thebestestdrummer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age: 19
Posts: 964
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 4
Rep:525
Thebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of light
Default

I have multiple LED strips going to the one set of Positive and negative wires though.
__________________
2 10 Memphis Power Reference Subs with SPL Z2X-1600 amp JVC head unit,
Advanced 3 million Underbody LED kit,
Air horn "AHHOOOGA" horn,
plasti-dipped hood stripe, rims, mirrors,handles, emblems,
Green Interior LEDs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2013, 01:12 PM
gcscott's Avatar
gcscott gcscott is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 56
Posts: 958
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4X4 / 3.55 LSD
Trim Level: Outdoorsman Crew Cab
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:1043
gcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud of
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thebestestdrummer View Post
I have multiple LED strips going to the one set of Positive and negative wires though.
As long as you don't exceed the power capacity of the circuit by blowing the fuse you will be good.

Greg
__________________
MOD LIST:To many to list. I do all MODS and Installs myself.
View them here: http://www.ramforumz.com/member.php?u=66037
Every time I think I'm done with doing Mods something else catches my eye.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2013, 02:24 PM
scmedic09's Avatar
scmedic09 scmedic09 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: miramichi New Brunswick, Canada
Age: 27
Posts: 442
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 dodge ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Brillant Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:168
scmedic09 has a spectacular aura aboutscmedic09 has a spectacular aura about
Default

leds "shouldnt" pull enough power to blow any fuses. id say you would be just fine tapping into the dome light wire. im awaiting the arrival of some LED strips to do some puttle lights on my mirrors, and i as well will be tapping into the dome lights . Let us know how you make out!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2013, 05:17 PM
Thebestestdrummer's Avatar
Thebestestdrummer Thebestestdrummer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age: 19
Posts: 964
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 4
Rep:525
Thebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of light
Default

so should i put a bigger fuse in fuse panel area? haha.

So what I'm planning on right now is place the strips, then run all the wires back up to the dome light area, then connect all the positives together, then all the negatives together, then hook them up with the matching wires from the dome light, that all works, correct?
__________________
2 10 Memphis Power Reference Subs with SPL Z2X-1600 amp JVC head unit,
Advanced 3 million Underbody LED kit,
Air horn "AHHOOOGA" horn,
plasti-dipped hood stripe, rims, mirrors,handles, emblems,
Green Interior LEDs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2013, 10:06 PM
scmedic09's Avatar
scmedic09 scmedic09 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: miramichi New Brunswick, Canada
Age: 27
Posts: 442
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 dodge ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Brillant Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:168
scmedic09 has a spectacular aura aboutscmedic09 has a spectacular aura about
Default

yep would work for sure. can also ground any where to a good spot, and just run one power to the dome to trigger, or can also find where the wires exit the A pillar and go under the dash, and find the hot wire for your dome light. they should come down the driver side... may save running extra wire up through the headliner, a little less work for ya
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-19-2013, 10:08 PM
scmedic09's Avatar
scmedic09 scmedic09 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: miramichi New Brunswick, Canada
Age: 27
Posts: 442
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 dodge ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Brillant Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:168
scmedic09 has a spectacular aura aboutscmedic09 has a spectacular aura about
Default

and i would say you could put a bigger fuse as well.. shouldnt hurt, but someone with more experience can hopefully chime in as well
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-19-2013, 11:18 PM
Thebestestdrummer's Avatar
Thebestestdrummer Thebestestdrummer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age: 19
Posts: 964
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 4
Rep:525
Thebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of lightThebestestdrummer is a glorious beacon of light
Default

hopefully this will be tomorrows project.

But heres a teaser pic, they're just placed above the visor. I'm going to get more LEDS tomorrow to place there as well because it looks great.



__________________
2 10 Memphis Power Reference Subs with SPL Z2X-1600 amp JVC head unit,
Advanced 3 million Underbody LED kit,
Air horn "AHHOOOGA" horn,
plasti-dipped hood stripe, rims, mirrors,handles, emblems,
Green Interior LEDs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-29-2013, 04:16 AM
Planert360 Planert360 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 24
Posts: 62
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: Express
Color: Cherry Red
Rep Power: 0
Rep:54
Planert360 will become famous soon enough
Default

From the things I learned in Automotive electronics class is basically telling me to B!tch slap you for wanting to put a bigger fuse in the box

I always recommend against it. LEDs pull a trickle of power, and if you do blow a fuse run a new dedicated pwer wire.

The fuses in automobiles are selected for a reason (basically to not over power a wire, Always remember fuses are chosen based on the gauge wire, not the item there trying to power...). Think 20 years down the road when 3 or 4 people may have owned the truck, each one bumping up the fuse amperage for something or other, now someone has a nice truck on fire due to over powering a circuit.

Basically is what Im saying is you should be fine just tapping into the existing line, no fuse upgrade needed. ESPECIALY if your replacing the existing load, not using it with the new load (ie pulling the old bulbs out, then using only LEDS)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
door, green, led, trigger

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum