DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Accessories - Dodge Ram Parts - Dodge Ram Performance - Registered Vendors! > Bayou Goat Mounts - Ram Truck GPS/Cell Phone/Radar Detector Mounts


Notices

Bayou Goat Mounts - Ram Truck GPS/Cell Phone/Radar Detector Mounts Bayou Goat Mounts has designed the only mount made specifically for the  2009-2014 Ram Trucks. Our mount gives you the ability to mount your GPS, Cell Phone, or Radar Detector at the best possible spot on your Ram Truck Dash. With easy installation using factory screws already on your dash, this mount gives you a low profile look with easy access. Check out our sleek looking mounts at: bayougoatmounts.com


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 02-19-2014, 10:19 PM
4GoatsOnly's Avatar
4GoatsOnly 4GoatsOnly is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Opelousas, Louisiana
Age: 51
Posts: 280
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:15
4GoatsOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SShadow1974 View Post
How are you going to go about securing the wires? I really hate having my charge cable running from the rear of the console (want power all the time) to the front and up the dash to the mount. Just looks so messy.
And I've ordered a camera too, so that's going to be another cable running... I wish they put always on USB jacks in that holder at the top of the console... LOL
Hey friend from Canada, just wondering how long did it the mount take to get from the Bayou Country all the way to Nova Scotia? I mailed it on a Wednesday the 15th.

Now on the wire issue. I guess I need to see about hardwiring mine in to. It makes it look clean without having all the wires hanging. I think the pick from Senior Member BAC n Black looks sharp.
__________________

bayougoatmounts
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-19-2014, 11:34 PM
4GoatsOnly's Avatar
4GoatsOnly 4GoatsOnly is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Opelousas, Louisiana
Age: 51
Posts: 280
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:15
4GoatsOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bac n Black View Post
Just installed mine also; very impressed with the quality. Had my GPS hardwired.
Now that makes a clean looking install. Need to find the time to do my own. Looks so much better without all the wires. I have two wires I need to hide a GPS and Radar Detector. Yours looks cool and clean...


Thanks again for the pic.
Duane at Bayou Goat Mounts
__________________

bayougoatmounts
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-20-2014, 06:09 AM
rcmpvet's Avatar
rcmpvet rcmpvet is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ontario; Welland to be specific
Age: 59
Posts: 634
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black Gold Pearlcoat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:38
rcmpvet is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4GoatsOnly View Post
Hey friend from Canada, just wondering how long did it the mount take to get from the Bayou Country all the way to Nova Scotia? I mailed it on a Wednesday the 15th.

Now on the wire issue. I guess I need to see about hardwiring mine in to. It makes it look clean without having all the wires hanging. I think the pick from Senior Member BAC n Black looks sharp.
I know you asked this of SShadow1974, however here is my tracking information. As you can see it is all clean and straight forward, no delays in the system.

2014/02/1718:02WELLANDItem successfully delivered to recipient's front door



09:19WELLANDItem out for delivery



08:58WELLANDItem processed at local delivery facility Learn More The item has arrived at the destination facility for final sorting before delivery. Look for an "Out for Delivery" scan today or tomorrow to know when delivery will occur. You can also sign up for email notifications.


2014/02/1411:16MISSISSAUGAItem processed


2014/02/1312:14MISSISSAUGAItem processed



08:53MISSISSAUGAItem was released by Customs and is now with Canada Post for processing



08:52MISSISSAUGAItem has arrived in Canada and was sent for further processing.


2014/02/1021:29USMIAA,USAInternational item processed in originating country



21:29USMIAA,USAInternational item has left originating country and is en route to Canada


2014/02/0821:29
International item mailed in originating country
__________________
There Is No Such Thing As A Stupid Question: HOWEVER: Search Function is Your Friend
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-20-2014, 06:18 AM
rcmpvet's Avatar
rcmpvet rcmpvet is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ontario; Welland to be specific
Age: 59
Posts: 634
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black Gold Pearlcoat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:38
rcmpvet is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SShadow1974 View Post
How are you going to go about securing the wires? I really hate having my charge cable running from the rear of the console (want power all the time) to the front and up the dash to the mount. Just looks so messy.
And I've ordered a camera too, so that's going to be another cable running... I wish they put always on USB jacks in that holder at the top of the console... LOL
What you see there is an extra long power cable, I can shorten that by pulling it a bit behind the console. There is a lot of room behind the console/radio, once you get the trim off. I am plugged into the lighter socket nearest the driver and I can secure the wire behind the console to any other wire harness, the plug will just dangle if I unplug. There is no wire running up the front of the dash.

As for the one wire you see going to the windshield, that is for the GPS, I can easily drop that into the dash through one of the vents and then back up into the mount area. FYI, when you remove the rubber pad from the mount area there are two holes there that you can put wire through, one is 2X bigger than the other and in any event you can always nip off the rubber tabs that go into those holes.
__________________
There Is No Such Thing As A Stupid Question: HOWEVER: Search Function is Your Friend
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-20-2014, 06:53 AM
SShadow1974's Avatar
SShadow1974 SShadow1974 is online now
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: 40
Posts: 1,305
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500 Outdoorsman
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 1
Rep:131
SShadow1974 will become famous soon enoughSShadow1974 will become famous soon enough
Default

Yeah, mine was about the same time as RCMPVet... No more than two weeks, definitely.
__________________
'Twixt Light and Darkness lies...
S S H A D O W
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-20-2014, 06:56 AM
SShadow1974's Avatar
SShadow1974 SShadow1974 is online now
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: 40
Posts: 1,305
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500 Outdoorsman
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 1
Rep:131
SShadow1974 will become famous soon enoughSShadow1974 will become famous soon enough
Default

Where do you bring it out from behind the console in order to plug it in? I guess I should just take a good look at my console and see what I can see. What I would LOVE to do, is tap the cable into 5v behind the console so I don't have to plug it into the cigarette lighter.
__________________
'Twixt Light and Darkness lies...
S S H A D O W
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-20-2014, 05:22 PM
4GoatsOnly's Avatar
4GoatsOnly 4GoatsOnly is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Opelousas, Louisiana
Age: 51
Posts: 280
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:15
4GoatsOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SShadow1974 View Post
Where do you bring it out from behind the console in order to plug it in? I guess I should just take a good look at my console and see what I can see. What I would LOVE to do, is tap the cable into 5v behind the console so I don't have to plug it into the cigarette lighter.
I wish it was me but that is Senior Member Bac n Black that has it hard wired in. His pic is a few replies down. When I find the time I will do the same. Just looks better with no wires.

Duane at Bayou Goat Mounts
__________________

bayougoatmounts
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-21-2014, 09:25 AM
rcmpvet's Avatar
rcmpvet rcmpvet is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ontario; Welland to be specific
Age: 59
Posts: 634
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black Gold Pearlcoat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:38
rcmpvet is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SShadow1974 View Post
Where do you bring it out from behind the console in order to plug it in? I guess I should just take a good look at my console and see what I can see. What I would LOVE to do, is tap the cable into 5v behind the console so I don't have to plug it into the cigarette lighter.
For the plug itself it comes out at the driver's side of the console, nearest the socket. For the connection to the unit I have it coming out just behind the trim piece itself, you have to remove the trim first. There are three screws, the two where you attach the mount and one more on the lower right side (passenger) where there is just a little cubby beside the radio knob, the screw is at the back (#20 torx). You do not have to remove the knobs or anything, they are all a contained unit.

When you lift the rubber pad on top (RAM) for the mount you will see the two holes that you can feed wire.

For hardwiring all you would have to do is bring the wire over to the fuse relay, find a 12V source with 5 amp fuse that is only hot when ignition is on.

EDIT - Did not read your post that closely, if you require a 5V source then you might have to use the stock plug that comes with the unit as that is most likely where the voltage is regulated. Disregard the 12V, 5 Amp. In that case you might have to wire in a spare 12V socket and hide it behind the dash where you can then plug in the unit itself.
__________________
There Is No Such Thing As A Stupid Question: HOWEVER: Search Function is Your Friend

Last edited by rcmpvet; 02-21-2014 at 10:05 AM. Reason: Additional clarification
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-21-2014, 11:04 AM
SShadow1974's Avatar
SShadow1974 SShadow1974 is online now
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: 40
Posts: 1,305
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500 Outdoorsman
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 1
Rep:131
SShadow1974 will become famous soon enoughSShadow1974 will become famous soon enough
Default

Yeah, I have to find that 3rd screw on the passenger side. I have the 110v accessory plug and a cubby above that. I'm thinking it might be in the cubby.
When you remove the console, does it just come off, or is there clips? Pull it straight back? or wiggle it? I just don't want to break anything. Did you have to use a tool to pry it?
Maybe I just need to find a video on YouTube... LOL
I just swapped my 55w low beams with 65w bulbs... I'm not sure I have the tenacity to attack the console today - but maybe tomorrow. But I really want to hide those cables!
__________________
'Twixt Light and Darkness lies...
S S H A D O W
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-21-2014, 12:53 PM
rcmpvet's Avatar
rcmpvet rcmpvet is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ontario; Welland to be specific
Age: 59
Posts: 634
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black Gold Pearlcoat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:38
rcmpvet is on a distinguished road
Default

That third screw is at the back of that cubby above the 115V. For a removal tool I just used a baseboard removal tool I had.

Here is a video on a 2013, they do not mention the third screw, but the 2014 has one. The tool he uses is similar to what I used.



Once you pop the top there are two other clips about 3/4 of the way down on each side, the bezel will just pop out. You have to tilt the bezel and radio controls forward from the top. I just left the controls plugged in but they can be unplugged for a complete removal.
__________________
There Is No Such Thing As A Stupid Question: HOWEVER: Search Function is Your Friend
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum