DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum (http://www.ramforumz.com/index.php)
-   Dodge Ram Knowledge Base (http://www.ramforumz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   2009 Ram Center Console/Head Unit Removal (http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=48449)

09Hemi 02-20-2010 04:09 PM

2009 Ram Center Console/Head Unit Removal
 
Next comes the center dash piece:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4043/...5676e981_o.jpg
BOOM!:smileup:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4036/...bcf6eb13_o.jpg
Screw one behind cover on power inverter

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2748/...51758b08_o.jpg
Two and Three are under the little cover on the top of the dash.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4036/...d0053fd8_o.jpg
Remove all screws, get ahold of the dash by the top and give it a nice tug... and presto. bezel removed.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4059/...a6fc1d95_o.jpg
Remove all these plugs and just set it to the side.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4002/...cd179f44_o.jpg
Remove the 4 screws and the new/old radio slides right out.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4069/...11a6283a_o.jpg
ISSUE NUMBER 1!!!!! You have to take a dremel to the dash to make any double din fit... its a pain but it has to be done. Just trim and fit until you are satisfied.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2769/...5c7e0282_o.jpg
Make all the connections with the wires and plug in your wire harness.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4033/...6be6f041_o.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4022/...47975cf7_o.jpg
This little thing makes it so you can play videos wile moving.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4035/...66e8064f_o.jpg
And to make your factory sirius work with any pioneer unit you need this and the Sirius sc-c1 to adapt it. both cost about $70 $140 total. Ebay and other sites have them cheaper but I decided to just buy them from the store.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4030/...b8b5c429_o.jpg
Conveniently comes with 2 velcro strips to install... Installed right below the radio.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4032/...1ed10cf6_o.jpg
When it comes to installing ipod adapters or anything else dont even think for a second you can run it through an empty button/switch slot... they are circuit boards and cannot be messed with unless you know what your doing.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4044/...cba11e2e_o.jpg
Put everything back together and your in business.


Hope this helps anyone out!!! let me know if you have any questions or requests.

GTyankee 02-20-2010 05:16 PM

nice write up & pictures
i'm sure someone will be doing it soon

Bearwhiz 02-20-2010 08:12 PM

It's illegal in Texas to have video screen visible from the front seat. Just saying.

09Hemi 02-20-2010 08:44 PM

that sucks.

Rattlerun 03-13-2010 12:03 PM

Did your EVIC show that your radio was on and what station you were listening to, or that the radio is off, or show nothing at all.

09 TRX AGGIE 03-15-2010 12:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bearwhiz (Post 160492)
It's illegal in Texas to have video screen visible from the front seat. Just saying.

this is a quote i heard here in abilene, tx

"it is not illegal to have a video screen visible while driving, but it is illegal to watch it!"

09Hemi 03-22-2010 01:59 AM

the EVIC does not show up with the station because it cant read the pioneer... it would be another like 300 to make the steering wheel controls and EVIC work the same

dkm112 08-19-2010 03:10 PM

A little off topic for this thread, but I noticed what looks like an unused wiring harness plugged into an empty terminal behind the 'RAM' switch plate blank. If you take a look at the first picture, you'll see the 'RAM' switch plate blank I'm talking about (below HVAC controls). Then take a look at the fifth picture and you'll see a wiring harness with red and white wires plug into that blank. Then take a look at picture 13 and you'll notice the empty terminal attached to the back of the 'RAM' switch plate blank into which the mystery wiring harness was attached.

Anyone know what the mystery wiring harness attached to the back of the 'RAM' switch plate blank controls (if you had that option installed)?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger